The short answer is yes. You, or Shieldpay, may close an account at any time. Although you can close your account at any time, we are obliged to keep certain information in connection with your account for a period of time to comply with our legal obligations. Shieldpay rarely closes accounts except where the account holder has violated the User Terms with us, or we are required to do so to comply with our regulatory responsibilities, for example under the money laundering regulations. Normally, we notify a Shieldpay user before closing the account, unless we cannot do so.
We may also prevent your account from sending or receiving payments, and/or from making withdrawals in certain circumstances, such as where information given to us appears to be inaccurate, you fail to perform key obligations, or we believe that there may be some suspicious activity.
If we restrict your account (without closing it entirely), the our online chat service will remain available to you, or you can reach Customer Support by telephone. You are welcome to enquire about the restriction, and we will explain the basis for it (if allowed) and how you can have the restriction removed.
Shieldpay may also block a specific payment (without closing or restricting the account) to comply with its legal and regulatory duties.